Two for Two for Jérôme Mailloux and Philippe Poirier, ECRC Winners at the Rallye de Charlevoix

Two for Two for Jérôme Mailloux and Philippe Poirier, ECRC Winners at the Rallye de Charlevoix

Monday, October 25th, 2021

October 23, 2021.- The Eastern Canadian Rally Championship (ECRC) presented its fourth round of the 2021 season, as part of the Rallye de Charlevoix.  Back in the calendar after a one-year absence, the event had multiple leaderboard changes among the beautiful scenery surrounding the towns of La Malbaie and Clermont.  In the end, it was Jérôme Mailloux and Philippe Poirier who were victorious, despite a stressful end to their rally thanks to mechanical problems that chipped away at their lead.

After claiming their first win last month at the Rallye Défi Petite Nation, in addition to second place finishes at the first two events of the season (Rallye Baie-des-Chaleurs and Black Bear Rally), Mailloux and Poirier completed another important step towards earning themselves a championship title.

The issues at the end of Mailloux/Poirier’s rally could have been to the advantage of Alexandre Moreau and Ian Guité, but the Swap Shop team duo were victims of a transmission failure in the second last competitive stage, forcing them to retire.

Winner of the 2019 edition, Nicolas Laverdière, co-driven by Patrick Lévesque in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo, finished in second place, only 26 seconds behind Mailloux/Poirier.

Also with a remarkable performance were Vincent and Christopher Trudel, who drove their Subaru WRX STI to a third place finish and won the Production 4 wheel-drive class.  They finished just four seconds ahead of another Subaru WRX STI sibling duo, that of Nick and Kelly Mathew, of Nova Scotia.


Leaders of the 2 wheel-drive class from the second of nine stages, Mathieu Leblanc and Éric Dubé once again impressed with their Honda Civic. They won their class and finished in the Top 5 overall and in both cases, finished just ahead of Yvan Joyal and Marc-André Lamontagne, who claimed fastest 2 wheel-drive time on the first stage.

The Top 8 was completed by Yves Barbe and Patrice Harvey, in another Test Racing car, Simon Aubé and Danny Hudon, and André and René Leblanc, all driving Subarus. The Leblanc brothers were initially eyeing the victory but turbo problems during the first stage ruined those chances.

Gabriel Monette and Olivier Martineau (Subaru) rounded out the Top 10 while Éric Dufour and Denis Pesant won Production 2 wheel-drive.

In total, fifteen ECRC teams completed the event of the 19 entries. The Rallye de Charlevoix continues tomorrow for the Canadian Rally Championship registered teams.

The Eastern Canadian Rally Championship (ECRC) consists of six events this season, spread out between Ontario and Quebec.  The next round will take place on November 20th in Ontario, as part of the Rally of the Tall Pines. Two rounds will be contested at this event and will complete the 2021 season.

For all information, please visit the website

2021 ECRC Calendar

Date Event City (Province) / Club 2021 Winners
July 3 Rallye Baie-des-Chaleurs

New Richmond (Quebec)

Club Rallye Auto Baie-des-Chaleurs

Overall :  André Leblanc and René Leblanc

2WD : Éric Dufour and Denis Pesant

August 7 Black Bear Rally

Catchacoma (Ontario)

Maple Leaf Rally Club

Overall : Alexandre Moreau and Ian Guité

2WD : Patrick Cyr and Dan Cyr


10 – 11

Rallye Défi

Montpellier (Quebec)

Club Autosport Défi Outaouais

Overall Jérôme Mailloux and Philippe Poirier

2WD : Francis Belley and Dany Mallette

October 23 Rallye Charlevoix

La Malbaie (Quebec)

Club Rallye de Charlevoix

Overall : Jérôme Mailloux & Philippe Poirier

2WD : Mathieu Leblanc and Éric Dubé

November 20 Tall Pines Rally Regional 1

Bancroft (Ontario)

Maple Leaf Rally Club

November 20 Tall Pines Rally Regional 2

Bancroft (Ontario)

Maple Leaf Rally Club

 © Marie-Lyse Tremblay /



Mailloux masterclass at Lincoln...
For over 50 years, the Lincoln Electric Rally of the Tall Pines in Bancroft, Ontario...
Mailloux wins rally of...
Survival was the name of the game at Rallye de Charlevoix, round five of the...
The retirement of the...
The Canadian Association of Rallysport (CARS) is announcing the retirement of Terry Epp, our National...
Levac charges to win...
The 30th Edition of the Rallye Défi Petit Nation, the 4th round of the 2022...